Skip to content

I’ve Gotta Feeling: Rod Kelley

March 1, 2010

Sorry if the title put you in the mood for “The Black Eyed Peas.” Fun song, but not the focus of today’s post.

Riddle me this… Until I am measured, I am not known, yet how you miss me, when I have flown.

What am I?

If you’re still stumped, the answer is what we all seek more of: time. A whirlwind of change has happened since the time of my last post until now. My institution hosted the 20th annual Jon C. Dalton Institute on College Student Values, I co-presented a session on “Impacting Graduate Student Development through the Growth of Undergraduate Student Leaders “at the Association of Student Conduct Administration (ASCA) annual conference, and I secured a job as the next Associate Director for the Office of Student Rights & Responsibilities at Florida State University!

And at some point, I also went to class :-).

So to say the month of February has been busy is putting it mildly. Regardless of the excitement going on in the state of Florida, I am anxious to attend my first NASPA conference and experience Chicago. There are several professionals from my institution going to NASPA this year, and one of my professors, Dr. Jon Dalton, will be honored as a NASPA legacy at the conference. In addition to Dr. Dalton’s honors, Dr. Mary Coburn, Vice President for Student Affairs at Florida State University, will also be recognized as the 2011 NASPA Conference chair. In looking at the accomplishments of Drs. Dalton and Coburn as well as other professionals at my institution, I am very fortunate to be surrounded by administrators that value professional development and establishing connections to the student affairs field. Not only have these professionals reached out to the field to better inform their practice, these same professionals have also given back through their active engagement in discussions regarding best practices. Most importantly, these professionals share their servant leader behavior at our home institution and support graduate students and new professionals in pursuing professional development endeavors.

It’s hard to imagine that in less than ten days I will be in Chicago attending my first NASPA conference. The introvert in me is a bit frightened; I’m sure there will be a lot of people in attendance. The student in me is excited; there are so many sessions to go to and so much to learn! The writer in me is charged by the opportunity to meet individuals who are passionate about their work and is interested in hearing each of their stories. I’m certain that my NASPA experience will be a memorable one, and I can’t wait to experience it soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

