Skip to content

Gearing up: Get Ready, Set, GO!

March 4, 2010
by

It has been a very fast past couple of weeks.  They have been busy and yet fun.  As I am finishing out my semester student teaching at SUNY Fredonia it has been a new and exciting challenge for me to work with middle and high school students.  In the middle of the hustle and bustle of daily life at public school, I have been busy with applying to graduate school.  Hopefully by the time NASPA hits, I will have made a decision!

Attending my first NASPA conference has been in the back of my mind ever since I first got this exceptional opportunity to attend.  I am looking forward to my trip Chicago. Why? I knew you all would want to know. I feel this is a great opportunity to meet new people in the same career path in student affairs.  I am eager to meet new, young, and seasoned professionals in the field.  The conference in itself will give me knowledge and growth potential for my future endeavors ahead.  The information that will be taught to all of us will be positive and motivating.  I also have never been to Chicago, so it will be one of many firsts.  I look forward to seeing a city that has a lot of culture, diversity, and spectacular skyline.

I am excited and anxious all at the same time.  The educational sessions look awesome.  While volunteering throughout the conference I look forward to networking with professionals from the field.  This will give me a chance to broaden my horizons and see the cutting edge topics in student affairs.  I can’t wait to see what my experiences will bring from SUNY Fredonia to this conference.  Being able to soak all of this in and seeing how I can improve as an entering professional into the field of higher education will be a tremendous asset to my future career.

I challenge myself everyday to learn more to be the best I can be so that I can impact college students the way that I have been impacted at SUNY Fredonia.  To be able to share my experiences with other people will be a grand time!  I can’t wait to try some of Chicago’s famous deep-dish pizzas!  That sounds delicious, doesn’t it?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

