Skip to content

Musings about TPE… success and growth: Mitch Joseph (TPE Guest Blogger)

March 6, 2010

Hi readers!

So my TPE experience is almost at an end. I have to say that I have really enjoyed this process. It has allowed me to meet so many great professionals in the field, learn more about myself, and experience some success in my job search.

Day 1: Thursday 3/4. I had a pretty good night’s sleep… woke up and got everything in order. Folders packed, laptop ready to roll, got my pens, paper, and notes. As I load the shuttle bus ( which is awesome!) I do a little last minute prep. During my interviews today I felt a bit shakey. Some of my answers were not up to par. I was hoping to do a bit better. But today I was able to work out some of the kinks from my answers; although that was no where near my intention. But I can regroup, reflect on some of my responses, and start again on Friday!

Day 2: Friday 3/5. Today is a BIG day! Eight interviews, only about an hour or less between each. Luckily I am able to get “in the zone” and perform up to my expectations. My Bowling Green education and internship experiences are paying off! One great thing I am able to do is that I am able to relate personal experiences to the questions and provide a true-to-life example. I had one question that threw me for a loop: “Explain how an understanding and knowledge of Student Development Theory can lead to excellent customer service and satisfaction in our residence halls”. I’m sure the interviewer could see the smoke coming out of my ears as my brain’s gears were really turning. This day was really successful, I received some invites for second interviews with places that I am really excited about! Woo hoo! 🙂

Day 3: Saturday 3/6. So far so good…. I’m really exhausted though. I have to attack each interview and remain focused and in the zone. I have found that I am fortunate enough to have an outstanding cohort of friends and peers through BG and beyond. They are my de-stressors and we are able to celebrate one another’s successes.

I’ll keep you all updated on my progress after TPE and during the NASPA conference. Best of luck to all job-seekers, and thank you to the employers and institutions that allowed me to interview.

Catch up with me in live-action through my twitter… www.twitter.com/mjoseph00

-MJ

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

